General Information

The Department of Sociology was established in 1964 under Ankara University and became a part of Hacettepe University in 1968. In addition to sociology undergraduate and graduate studies (including Master's and Ph.D.), the department has a Master's program on Women and Gender Studies. As of 2015, the department is home to 385 undergraduate, 99 master's and 89 Ph.D. students. In addition to seperate double major programs with the departments of History and Philosophy, and the certificate program open to students in other departments, the department contributes to the teaching activities of other departments by offering introductory and advanced level courses. As of 2016, there are 7 full professors, 4 associate professors, 3 assitant professors, 1 lecturer, and 14 research assistants working in the department. The department is at the same time one of the central universities where young academics to be employed by other universities are trained.

Hacettepe Üniversitesi Sosyoloji Bölümü
06800 Beytepe Ankara
Webmaster: Dr. Sevgi Coban